Hepatitis – One Name, Five unique types

One Name, Five unique types of Hepatitis

Scientists have identified 5 unique hepatitis viruses, identified by the letters A, B, C, D, and E. Doctor’s has one name for all of them “Hepatitis”. While all cause liver disease, they vary in important ways.

These 5 types are of greatest concern because of the burden of illness and death they cause and the potential for outbreaks and epidemic spread. In particular, types B and C lead to chronic disease in hundreds of millions of people and, together, are the most common cause of liver cirrhosis and cancer.

Hepatitis A and E are typically caused by ingestion of contaminated food or water. Hepatitis B, C and D usually occur as a result of parenteral contact with infected body fluids.

Common modes of transmission for these viruses include receipt of contaminated blood or blood products, invasive medical procedures using contaminated equipment and for hepatitis B transmission from mother to baby at birth, from family member to child, and also by sexual contact.

The other two types of Hepatitis are Hepatitis G ( mild type) and Hepatitis X (unknown virus)

Treatment: Depends on which type of Hepatitis one have. Vaccination is one the important measure to prevent Hepatitis. However there are no proper vaccines for Hepatitis C yet and China has developed vaccine for Hepatitis E and is not available elsewhere. Vaccinations can prevent development of Hepatitis A and B and are available.

Image credit: https://www.theworldmedicalcenter.com/

Author: Sumana Rao | Posted on: May 4, 2022

Recommended for you

Write a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us on Facebook