The eatwell plate of UK

The eatwell plate of UK

The UK’s national food guide, the eatwell plate, defines the government’s advice on a healthy balance diet. The eatwell plate is a visual representation of how different foods contribute towards a healthy balanced diet.  This concept is based on the 5 food groups, makes healthy eating easier to understand by giving a visual representation of the types and proportions of foods needed for a healthy balanced diet. The eatwell plate is suitable for most people including people of all ethnic origins and people who are of a healthy weight or overweight. It is also suitable for vegetarians.

Choosing a variety of foods from within the 4 main food groups will add to the range of nutrients consumed. This includes:

  • plenty of fruit and vegetables
  • plenty of bread, rice, potatoes, pasta and other starchy foods
  • some milk and dairy foods
  • some meat, fish, eggs, beans and other non dairy sources of protein

Foods and drinks high in fat and/or sugar are not essential to a healthy diet, and should be consumed only in small amounts.

Author: Sumana Rao | Posted on: January 8, 2016

Recommended for you

Write a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us on Facebook