Foods that we thought vegetarian but aren’t

Foods that we thought vegetarian but aren’t

We all are not food scientists to understand the mysterious names of all those ingredients present in the food labels. If you are keen to understand the ingredients mentioned in food labels there are plenty of information available about all those ingredients in books and internet searches.

However, many ingredients might not be made it to the list. Many products contain both animal and plant derived ingredients and additives.

If you are a vegan or vegetarian, then you must re-look into the ingredients of following few products before buying and consuming.

There are many “vegetarian” foods in the market, that contain animal derived additives and ingredients which makes them ‘not vegan or vegetarian friendly choices’.

Certain food additives, carmine or cochineal, gelatin, Isinglass, natural flavorings, omega 3 fatty acids, vitamin D3, dairy ingredients are few animal products that one can encounter in list of ingredients.

But, you will be surprised to see the products those contain these ingredients.

Refined White Sugar: Click here to read more

Refined White Sugar

Salted peanuts are not always vegan: Click here to read more

Salted peanuts are not always vegan

Barbecue Chips: Click here to read more

Barbecue Chips

Vegetable soups: Click here to read more

Vegetable soups

Red Candies: Click here to read more

Red candies - what is the source for coloring agent?

Vanilla Ice cream: Click here to read more

Vanilla Ice cream - Is it natural flavor?

Grapefruit Juice, Pink Lemonade and Orange juice: Click here to read more

Grapefruit Juice, Pink Lemonade and Orange juice

Gummy bears, Jell-O, Marshmallows: Click here to read more

Gummy bears, Jell-O, Marshmallows

Noodles: Click here to read more

Noodles

.

References:


Published by: Sumana Rao | Posted on: July 3, 2018

Recommended for you

Write a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow us on Facebook